Kyrou, E.
'Administrative law: a sunrise industry for the legal profession?'
Mason, A.
'That twentieth century growth industry, judicial or tribunal review'
O'Brien, D. 'Tribunals and public policy: what decisions are suitable for review?'
Pearce, D.
'The fading of the vision splendid?'
Rose, A.
'Judicial review and public policy: a comment'
Rowlands, A.
'Crossing the frontier between law and administration'
Sassella, M.
'Administrative law in the welfare state: impact on
the Department of Social Security'
Selby, H.
'Ombudsman Inc: a bullish stock with a bare
performance'
Skehill, S.
'The hidden dimension of administrative law: internal
and first tier review, Part 1'
Tomasic, R.
'Formalised consultation, delegated legislation and guidelines: "new" directions in Australian
administrative law?'
Volker, D. 'The effect of administrative law reforms: primary
level decision-making'
Walsh, P.
'Equities and inequities in administrative law'
Wilcox, M.
'Judicial review and public policy'
Wingett, I.
'The nursing homes program: a case study in administrative law'
PERSONALIA
FERSUNALIA

Administrative Review Council

Dr Cheryl Saunders, President of the Council, was appointed to a Personal Chair as Professor of Law at the University of Melbourne on 7 August 1989.

[1989] Admin Review 119

Mr Alan Rose, who took over as Secretary of the Attorney-General's Department from Mr Pat Brazil earlier this year, has been appointed to the Council as a part-time member for 3 years from 1 August 1989. Mr Rose was first appointed to the Council in February 1983, when he was Deputy Secretary in the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet. He served a second term from April 1986 until November 1987.

Administrative Appeals Tribunal

On 2 August 1989 the Attorney-General announced the appointment of the Hon Justice Robert Bulley as a Presidential Member of the AAT. Justice Bulley has been a judge of the Family Court since 1977. He will be based in Brisbane.

Mr Brendan Burns, who will be based in Adelaide, has been appointed as a Deputy President until he reaches age 70. Mr Burns has held a variety of appointments including lecturer in law, inaugural member of the Childrens' Interest Bureau in South Australia, and Stipendiary Magistrate. Since 1978 he has been a judge of the District Court of South Australia.

Mr Alan Blow, Mr Ray Watterson and Mr Kevin Lynch have been appointed as part-time Senior Members for periods of 5 years. Mr Blow, who is a practising barrister in Tasmania, is a new appointment. Mr Lynch and Mr Watterson have held previous appointments as part-time member and full-time Senior Member respectively.

Mr Edmond O'Farrell, Mr Michael Shotter and Mr Edwin Keane have been appointed as part-time members. Mr O'Farrell, who is 67, has been appointed until he reaches age 70 while Mr Shotter and Mr Keane have been appointed for 5 years. Mr Keane and Mr Shotter were career officers with the Australian Navy and Mr Shotter has also served for a number of years in public administration.

Among those members whose appointments are due to expire, Dr D.J. Howell, Mr G.R. Taylor and Mr J.H. Wilson have been reappointed as part-time members until they reach age 70. Other reappointments as part-time members, for periods of 5 years, are Mr G.F. Brewer, Dr H.D. Browne, Mr J.D. Horrigan, Dr J.T. Linn, Ms L.S. Rodopoulos and Mr C.A. Woodley.

Admin Review is a quarterly bulletin concerned with informing government, private organisations and individuals about developments in federal administrative law and procedure. It is produced under the auspices of the Administrative Review Council but the views expressed in the bulletin are not necessarily the views of the Council or any of its members. Although every care is taken in the preparation of the publication, no liability is accepted in respect of matters published in it. The purpose of the bulletin is to provide general information and not legal Readers should check carefully the detail of advice. legislation, cases and other material included in the bulletin. All inquiries concerning the bulletin, other than subscription inquiries, should be directed to the editor (address on front cover). Subscription inquiries should be directed to the Australian Government Publishing Service.

© Commonwealth of Australia 1990 Published for the Administrative Review Council by the Australian Government Publishing Service, Canberra 1990 90/20 350 Cat. No. 90 0331 X

